23rd Annual Groundhog Cookie!

Some of you may remember the groundhog cookie from the Weebly days of Indulging in Guilty Pleasure. It’s a tradition my dad and I started when I was two or three and in kindergarten. It was just a cute idea to bring in a groundhog cookie to school that turned into an annual tradition. The groundhog has even been shipped overseas so I could decorate and enjoy it while I was in Paris for a semester!

This year was a little different, and a little hard. I found myself snowed in all by myself – the Boy was off doing grad school interviews and everyone else was a rather treacherous 30 minute drive away. But I couldn’t bear the thought of not making the cookie, so I made a small one with the ingredients I had on hand. And it turned out lighter and fluffier than ever before! And I was still able to share it with my girls the next two nights.

And the groundhog thinks spring is coming early. Hey, just because I celebrate a grand tradition on the holiday doesn’t mean I take much stake in what the groundhog has to say!

The picture above was taken by Keith Svarocic, Associated Press.

Read on for the recipe and photos…

Ingredients

(I made a third recipe this year to have a smaller groundhog since I was making it alone – and it still took 7 people to finish it over two days!)

8/9 stick butter
1/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw because I was snowed in and couldn’t get brown sugar – it actually works out beautifully!)
2/3 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
7/6 cup flour
2/3 tsp baking soda
1/6 tsp salt
4 oz. chocolate chips (I used mini because it’s what I had on hand)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Combine all dry ingredients and set aside.
  • Cream butter with both sugars.

  • Add vanilla and the egg and mix well.
  • Add the dry ingredients one third at a time, mixing well after each addition.

  • Add the chocolate chips.

  • Now comes the groundhog part! Put a few dollops on an ungreased cookie sheet and start to shape into a groundhog (OR you can make it rather amorphous and then cut it into the groundhog shape after it’s baked!).

  • Bake for 8 minutes on the middle shelf of the oven.
  • Move to the other shelf for another 8 – 12 minutes until just golden brown.
  • Transfer to a wire rack to cool off before frosting – This year I made my own frosting (since, like I said, I was snowed in..) and it was delicious! That may become a tradition as well = ).


Ingredients

1 oz. unsweetened chocolate
1 tbsp butter
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/3 tsp vanilla extract
1 – 2 1/2 tbsp milk

Directions

  • Melt chocolate and butter in a double boiler then cool briefly.
  • Mix sugar into the cooled chocolate mixture.
  • Add vanilla and milk 1 tbsp at a time until just the right consistency.
  • Pipe over the cookie to give it real groundhog characteristics!



Look at lovely Punxsutawney Phil the cookie! So much fun, so easy, and so delicious!


Comments
5 Responses to “23rd Annual Groundhog Cookie!”
  1. Dan says:

    My son just wants to confirm that it’s one cookie per person, right?

    • blubird607 says:

      No it’s one very large cookie! That way everyone can break of a piece and pick and choose how much icing they want on their piece. I always want the nose =). Are you Scottish? I just noticed your website name.

      All the best and happy baking!

      • Dan says:

        My son still insists that it’s one cookie per person.

        My wife is the haggis (Scottish ancestry), I’m the herring šŸ™‚

  2. blubird607 says:

    Well you could certainly make mini groundhogs and have one cookie per person! Or, if your son can eat a cookie the size of a baking sheet, then he’s right = ).

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 29,612 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 131 other followers

  • Indulging Day by Day…

    February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
