Happy July 4th to All!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend! I spent mine at an incredible, secluded cabin in the Adirondacks with three of my favorite ladies in the whole world (though we were missing a few others, sadly). We spent most of the weekend learning that cooking ANYTHING over an open fire pit is pretty much the most delicious idea ever, drinking, indulging in baked goods, swimming, and boating. It was a truly magical weekend (my camera survived a trip on top of my car, even going at 60 miles an hour and stopping suddenly multiple times – it was in the same place on the roof when I got out as it was when I placed it there and promptly forgot about it…WHAT?!) and I’m super excited to share some recipes, photos, and great open fire cooking ideas with you!

The baked goods you’ll find being posted in the next few days are:
Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies with Nutella Cream Cheese Frosting
Whole Wheat Lemon Poppy Seed Scones
& Margarita Cupcakes

Things to make over an open fire include:
Pizzas (yes, I’ll include a recipe for dough and instructions)
Corn (in the husk)
Grilled Cheese and PB&Js (yes, grilled, you heard me!)
Smores (of course!)
and I’m still convinced we could have made Challah French Toast over the open fire with just a pan underneath…

I also decided that it would be great to do the Ink Blot test with firework pictures – what do you guys see in these photos?

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 29,727 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 131 other followers

  • Indulging Day by Day…

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
