Go-to Vegan Macaroni and Cheese – Cheese-a-rific!

Alright so my main qualm against becoming vegan is that I adore cheese. Love it. A vegan friend of mine, who is also a med student, told me that cheese has some components that resemble opium which makes us literally addicted. My response was, “And I will take that drug until the day I die!” Sorry if that’s offensive, just want to show how much I love cheese. Going hand in hand with that love, of course, is a passion for macaroni and cheese. You guys have seen my various recipes for macaroni and cheese (Cauliflower & Sage and Caramelized Shallot). So this is yet another thing that holds me back from veganism…until I found this recipe. Now, I won’t lie, it’s not cheese but it is damn close and it is damn delicious. I think the key ingredient is the nutritional yeast (you can find this in most stores!) and the butternut squash makes it a great hit for any season!

Read on for the recipe and photos…

Ingredients (this makes a TON – I split half to be baked and half to be stovetop. You can also freeze the sauce to use for later)

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and chopped (remember, use a potato peeler to peel and make sure to scoop out the seeds)

3/4 cup raw cashews (unsalted)

1 cup non-dairy milk (I tend to use almond milk because I love the consistency and nutty flavor)

3 garlic cloves

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp kosher salt (be careful not to oversalt – the nuts and the nutritional yeast add salt as well)

6 tbsp nutritional yeast

1/2 tsp dijon mustard

1/2 tsp of oregano or Italian seasoning

1/2 Turmeric powder (for the orange color but it also is a delicious smokey flavor in the background)

1/2 tsp Paprika (plus some to sprinkle on top of the baked version)

Black pepper to taste

Pasta of choice (I think this uses a whole pound – so I used half a pound to bake and half on the stove top)

Breadcrumbs (store bought or make your own by processing some a slice of bread and 1 tbsp of margarine together)

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350F and either oil or line a baking sheet.
  • Season your chopped squash with a little bit of oil (probably less than 1 tsp), kosher salt, and pepper. Toss onto the baking sheet in an even layer and bake 40 minutes, flipping once half way through.
  • Process the cashews until they resemble corn meal. Start boiling your pasta water and cook as you would normally. (Don’t have a food processor?? No worries! Put your cashews in a ziploc bag, seal it, and smash them with a rolling pin!!)
  • Add the remaining cheese ingredients (almond milk, garlic, lemon juice, salt, nutritional yeast, mustard, pepper, and seasonings) and process until smooth.  (Don’t have a food processor?? Just be sure to mince your garlic as small as possible!)
  • Add the roasted squash to the food processor and process until smooth. (Don’t have a food processor? Mash the squash with a potato masher and mix it all together by hand or using an electric mixer.)
  • If the sauce gets too thick, add a little bit of non-dairy milk (you will have to watch how much nutritional yeast you add – if it’s more than 6 tbsp it will get thick and chunky).
  • Drain and rinse your pasta. For the stovetop version, heat up the sauce in the pan a bit and hadd your pasta. Throw in any mix-ins you want and enjoy!
  • If you’re doing the baked casserole version, pour the pasta into a casserole dish that’s been greased. Add the sauce and stir. Top with breadcrumbs and some paprika. Bake at 350F for 20 – 25 minutes.
  • You can store the leftovers from either version for a few days and like I said you can store the sauce as well (in the fridge for up to a week, in the freezer for about a month).
In case you’re curious, here’s the nutritional value of one scoop: 140 calories, 21g carbs, 6g fat, 3g protein, 2g fiber, 0g cholesterol. Yea. That’s right. = )

I bet you won’t believe how much like macaroni and cheese this dish tastes! It’s filling, salty, and delicious. This has become one of my staple foods!

Image

Comments
One Response to “Go-to Vegan Macaroni and Cheese – Cheese-a-rific!”
  1. Chef Randall says:

    hey there this looks good. I am writing a blog EXCLUSIVE here on hubpages at savorthefood.hubpages.com and I will be linking to this recipe. The hub is titled “Quick Gourmet Macaroni and Cheese Recipe.”

    I also see you offer your cooking skills. I like to bake..have a small side business “Desserts by Randall.” I seen your page “order something for yourself”. I was thinking of that very thing to add a page to further my business here in were I live.

    Like your blog, will being following it.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 29,731 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 131 other followers

  • Indulging Day by Day…

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930